Lame, lame, lame

Three legged lame. So tough to watch your horse be in so much pain that he can’t even put all his weight on all 4 legs.  Mister has had a rough go for the past month, well maybe 3 weeks. It’s been rainy and gross and muddy and he’s been spending more time inside which has made him miserable.  We had to put him back outside because he was just cranky and angry-pinning his ears at everyone when they would even just walk passed his stall, kicking his stall and turning it into a mess with his incessant pacing.  I thought my bad attitude was to blame but then we remembered that he has been on grain and this is the first time he’s been inside for any length of time besides just being tacked up since he’s been on it, so now he can’t burn off the excess energy.

I was coming out and riding and lunging him but then he seemed to be a bit lame-nothing too noticeable but just enough that he was off.  We threw him back outside, gave him a bit of a break and in the meantime he also got his feet done, so we gave him a few days off.  He was running around being his usual dorky self so we brought him in and I lunged him cause he was crazy!  I walked him in and he was rearing on the way in and was very frisky!  But he still seemed a bit lame. We wanted to make sure he didn’t get too crazy and hurt himself!  So I just walked him around and did a bit of trotting.  He seemed off but not 3 legged lame!

So the next day I brought him out again and saddled him up-just walked and he seemed off-some head bob at the walk but it seemed to get better the more we walked so we tried the trot.  That was awful-I was almost in tears because it was so awful and to think I was causing that pain.  I got off and checked his foot and cleaned it out.  His feet actually look really nice, the last trim and shoes were good.  We put front shoes on so that we can save his hooves over the winter and had a couple spikes put in them so that he has some more grip.

Saturday I brought out some epsom salts and we attempted to soak his foot.  That was an adventure and a half.   Mister has decided that buckets and tubs and water are monsters that are trying to eat him!  He was terrified!!!  It took my riding instructor over half an hour of getting him to put his foot in an empty tub and then we had to add water cup by cup! Today it took me 1.5 hours and getting some help but we got his foot in the tub with water and had him stand in it for about 10 minutes.  Tomorrow we will have to do it a couple of times a day and the next day and the next until it finally bursts.  Hopefully it will be sooner rather than later.

These creatures sure have a way of challenging us when we need it the most.  I’m hoping tomorrow goes well and that I can get him to stand in some salt water!  I hate seeing him so miserable.  Soon we will be dancing again!  But for now we will enjoy some down time and I’ll ride the blonde surfer dude.

Leave a Reply

