Chill and mellow horses and a big happy birthday to my Mister Magoo!

Everyone wants a mellow horse but neither of my horses are super mellow!  Unless something is not quite right, sometimes it’s because I’m in a super mellow mood but sometimes it’s because something is off with them!  Especially since the spring usually means he’s a bit friskier and happier!  I rode him on Sunday and we cantered with other horses in the arena and not just other horses that were in the arena walking and trotting, we cantered with other horses also cantering!! And I didn’t feel nervous!  So yay us! Then Monday he had his shoes put on and he was super well behaved for the farrier.  Normally he is a bit impatient and can pull his feet away or shifts his weight, nothing really bad just annoying and his farrier gets mad.  But last Monday he was picture perfect!  I gave him a few days to get used to his feet again, he doesn’t do well with change!  He does do better going no shoes to shoes than he does going from shoes to no shoes though, so hopefully this time around will be less painful for him!  I rode him for a bit on Thursday and then Friday we had an awesome ride! His lope was sooo slow!  I gave him Saturday off and he was just sprawled right out in his pen.  Did not miss me at all.  That was ok I worked with my little girl and she too was super mellow, which for her has been weird as well since she’s usually quite spunky! Both of them are usually spunkier!!  A week of mellow is not normal for my brat!  My little girl is probably growing as that’s usually when we she is so chill!  So she will get a break again for abit to grow again!  As for my big guy, his feet are probably bugging him.  Tomorrow I will bring out his boots and see if that helps him.  We noticed that today he was kind of paddling to keep his front legs away from his back legs and we are pretty sure that was why he was so slow on Friday!  I don’t want him to be that slow if it’s because he is hitting himself or is worried that he’s hitting himself. I do remember now why I had bought the boots for him last year as he was doing it last year! And I will remember for the future that he needs boots for the first bit of having shoes on until he can figure out his new stride and how not to hit himself! I hope he figures it out soon so he can stop hitting himself!

Also today was Mister’s birthday!  He is 9 today!  I got a super cute picture done last week.  My riding instructor was also the one that bred Mister and gave me a picture of him at a day old with her and daughter so last week we took a picture of her daughter and Mister 9 years later!  It is so cute!  We said we will have to do another one of the two of them when she graduates high school!  Aren’t they cute!!  Until next time!!

 

17359188_10158436236660437_6362224168797822228_o

Leave a Reply

